“”THE KERASOTES BUILDING” “Copyright (c) 2015 by kerasotes””

“”THE KERASOTES BUILDINGSpringfield Illinois built 1909 – 

Some of the other theaters my father built and owned:

The Apollo Princeton Theatre After Purchase The Apollo Princeton Theatre The Beverly Theatre Peoria ??????????????????????????????? The Esquire Theatre Springfield Illinois

The Peoria Drive In:

The LaSalle Drive In Theatre

My Grandfather Gus Kerasotes and his brother Louis my Great Uncle in the Projection Room of the Strand Theatre in Springfield in 1934:  Gus & Louis Kerasotes The Strand Theatre's New Simplex Motion Picture Projection Machine Installed in April of 1933

The Kerasotes Building was to be LANDMARKED by my UNCLE JOHNNY KERASOTES but I do not know if it was.  Would you please do this for me and for us Sangamon County Historical Landmarking Society.  Bill it to Tony and Dean Please, my two cousins.  They can do the work as my uncle is probably too old by now.  Thanks.

The Kerasotes Building is a Marble Building Built in These United States in Springfield Illinois.  My Grandfather (Papou) Mr. Gus Kerasotes had it constructed. The Floors are terrazzo marble. The Doors are wood.  Our Building sits caddie-corner NorthEast from Lincoln’s Famous Olde State Capitol and just North of Our Strand Theatre Building. The Strand was constructed in 1908 and was finished before our building in 1909.  My grandfather started his movie business in 1900 with The Senate Theatre.  Then the Royal.  Then the Strand.  My Family Loved Lincoln and wanted to live where he grew up and  became  President.  We increased our theatre number up to over 500.  Michael his grandson was the only Kerasotes ever to visit every single theatre.  He did that in the Summer of 1972.  We owned more movie theaters in the world than anybody and we owned them privately.  No one else did.  Cool huh?  Yes.  Go see 1960 and 1962 Who’s Who in America and look under ‘George Kerasotes’ for the proof.  My father George liked drive-ins.  He built some of the first in the country.  One in Peoria was on 500,000 acres of land that my grandfather had bought in 1857.  It was the first twin drive in in the world.  We owned more drive ins than anybody.  We were the first to twin our theaters.  It caught on.  We then quadrupled them and the went to 8.  That’s how the multiplex theaters all started folks.  We owned several RKO Theatres like the Coronado in Rockford Illinois.  It had its own private apartment with a viewing screen of the theatre.  My father wanted me to live there but i refused.  He was disappointed and made me move in with my grandmother {or yiya} Flora.  She loved ,e and let me live in her big yellow house on the corner next door to her.  Above are some special photographs taken by me and my father.  One is of the Virginia {an RKO theatre in Champaign Illinois} and I ran that one for a while.  It was being reconstructed by us.  There is an above shot of the Peoria Illinois Drive In that I took in my Uncle Johnny’s Cessna.  We had to fly per it 17 times to get just the right shot.  See above.

That’s about all for now and it is June 21st, 2015.  Kindest regards, me, kerasotes”


“This is from the Editor of the Sangamon Historical Society Folks.  I think he is wrong and i am right but for now this is what he wrote me.  One of the reasons i think this way is this – my grandfather could not have had the money to build a building like ours at the time.  He would have had to acquired a lot of money first for the loans to build it.  Second they all think the Strand was built later and i do not.  I had the very first dollar my grandfather made and it was from the Strand Theatre I thought.  It was right across the street from our building to the south.  But I MAY BE WRONG.  After all Mr Mike K the editor of The Sangamon Historical Society site at SangamonLink has all Springfield Knowledge at his disposal.  So this is why I decided to put this in here any way and I wrote Wiki and them all about it and said they should talk with him about such things.  Thank you all.  me ——”

“Mr. Kerasotes: All the information I can find says Gus came to the U.S. in 1899 or 1900 and until 1909 was a partner in the Coutrakon & Kerasotes confectionery until he converted the building into the Royal Theater in 1909. Among the places where that information is given are the 1960 Illinois State Journal obituaries for both Gus and Louis. I have to believe that was accurate or the family would have had the biographies corrected back then. (The Kerasotes chain also celebrated its “silver jubilee” — 25th anniversary — in 1934, which also confirms the 1909 date.) Done this 25th of June 2015″”Copyright (c) 2015 by kerasotes””

2 thoughts on ““”THE KERASOTES BUILDING” “Copyright (c) 2015 by kerasotes””

  1. “”THE KERASOTES BUILDING” {Springfield Illinois built 1909} –

    The Kerasotes Building was to be LANDMARKED by my UNCLE JOHNNY KERASOTES but I do not know if it was. Would you please do this for me and for us Sangamon County Historical Landmarking Society. Bill it to Tony and Dean Please, my two cousins. They can do the work as my uncle is probably too old by now. Thanks.

    The Kerasotes Building is a Marble Building Built in These United States in Springfield Illinois. My Grandfather (Papou) Mr. Gus Kerasotes had it constructed. The Floors are terrazzo marble. The Doors are wood. Our Building sits caddie-corner NorthEast from Lincoln’s Famous Olde State Capitol and just North of Our Strand Theatre Building. The Strand was constructed in 1908 and was finished before our building in 1909. My grandfather started his movie business in 1900 with The Senate Theatre. Then the Royal. Then the Strand. My Family Loved Lincoln and wanted to live where he grew up and became President. We increased our theatre number up to over 500. Michael his grandson was the only Kerasotes ever to visit every single theatre. He did that in the Summer of 1972. We owned more movie theaters in the world than anybody and we owned them privately. No one else did. Cool huh? Yes. Go see 1960 and 1962 Who’s Who in America and look under ‘George Kerasotes’ for the proof. My father George liked drive-ins. He built some of the first in the country. One in Peoria was on 500,000 acres of land that my grandfather had bought in 1857. It was the first twin drive in in the world. We owned more drive ins than anybody. We were the first to twin our theaters. It caught on. We then quadrupled them and the went to 8. That’s how the multiplex theaters all started folks. We owned several RKO Theatres like the Coronado in Rockford Illinois. It had its own private apartment with a viewing screen of the theatre. My father wanted me to live there but i refused. He was disappointed and made me move in with my grandmother {or yiya} Flora. She loved me and let me live in her big yellow house on the corner next door to her. Above are some special photographs taken by me and my father. One is of the Virginia {an RKO theatre in Champaign Illinois} and I ran that one for a while. It was being reconstructed by us. There is an above shot of the Peoria Illinois Drive In that I took in my Uncle Johnny’s Cessna. We had to fly per it 17 times to get just the right shot. See above.

    That’s about all for now and it is June 21st, 2015. Kindest regards, me, kerasotes” “Copyright (c) 2015 by kerasotes””

    Like

Leave a Reply

