THIS IS SOMEONE’S NOTE RE: WIKIPEDIA’S VISUAL EDITOR I HAVE PLACED IT HERE ON YOU WORDPRESS TO SHOW YOU WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK OF WIKI AND WHY, MIKE HERE IS THEIR QUOTED TEXTS COPY/PASTED ON HERE BY ME: Turn OFF this F**king Editor[edit] This editor sucks. Not only is it different, it fucks things up like wikified links – it displays the brackets rather than wikifying. You guys are fucking idiots. I can’t express how fucked up you folks are. I specifically set my profile to *NOT* use the new editor weeks before it went online, and you still fucking forced it down my throat. Jeffrey Walton 01:11, 27 July 2013 (UTC) It’s obviously crap and unfit for purpose, but to say so is politically unacceptable here in the best of all possible worlds. Eric Corbett 01:18, 27 July 2013 (UTC) I couldn’t agree more. Its too bad the WMF refuses to admit that VE is garbage in its current condition and they need to quit[e] forcing broken garbage down people throats until its fixed. Kumioko (talk) 01:22, 27 July 2013 (UTC) I have warned Jimbo of potential VE hostilities to rise at Wikimania. I think WMF managers had imagined some grandstanding or showboating to have VE widely deployed before Wikimania, but even a prima donna knows to sing in tune and get *all* the words right in the song, before prancing to center stage. Beware, “Pride goeth before a fall” (<KJV Proverbs 16:18). I think WMF needs to face the music…. -Wikid77 (talk) 04:20, 27 July 2013 (UTC) See bottom of Special:Preferences#mw-prefsection-editing. There is now an option to "Temporarily disable VisualEditor while it is in beta". –Timeshifter (talk) 01:47, 27 July 2013 (UTC) For a comprehensive list of options, see WP:VisualEditor/Opt-out. — John Broughton (♫♫) 04:28, 27 July 2013 (UTC) We need a petition to request shutdown of VE until fixed for basic functionality. -Wikid77 (talk) 08:12, 28 July 2013 (UTC) Personally I would be happy to sign such a petition if I thought it would mean anything but the WMF doesn't care what we editors think. No matter how much and how many people complain or how obvious it is that it needs to be disabled, they have their minds made up. The only way they are going to listen is if we stop editing until its fixed. If enough editors stop editing for a while, they'll get the hint. Kumioko (talk) 14:22, 28 July 2013 (UTC) What future does a website have if it doesn't listen to the people who use that website? The answer is it doesn't have one. If changes are repeatedly pushed through that wikipedia users don't like, they're not going to use the site anymore. My edit count is seriously down and I have to admit VE is just so un-user-friendly I just can't be bothered to edit. Plus the sites constantly glitching, the sites taking longer to load so I'm going to other sites when I'm searching for information, and avoiding wikipedia all together. And it seems I'm not alone; talking to friends who include from registered users, anon-editors and casual browsers, the reply is a unanimous "WFT is wrong with wikipedia?". Its sad to see something I have enjoyed and valued falling apart before my eyes whilst whoever's running the shop seems blind to criticisms saying that they know best. Every time I've made a suggestion about improving this shambles its been put down in the rudest manner; and reading though these pages, I'm obviously not alone. When will this shambles end? When wikipedia has no visitors anymore? –Rushton2010 (talk) 18:26, 28 July 2013 (UTC)

THIS IS SOMEONE’S NOTE RE: WIKIPEDIA’S VISUAL EDITOR

I HAVE PLACED IT HERE ON YOU WORDPRESS TO SHOW YOU WHAT OTHER PEOPLE THINK OF WIKI AND WHY, MIKE

HERE IS THEIR QUOTED TEXTS COPY/PASTED ON HERE BY ME:

“Turn OFF this F**king Editor[edit]

This editor sucks. Not only is it different, it fucks things up like wikified links – it displays the brackets rather than wikifying. You guys are fucking idiots.

I can’t express how fucked up you folks are. I specifically set my profile to *NOT* use the new editor weeks before it went online, and you still fucking forced it down my throat. Jeffrey Walton 01:11, 27 July 2013 (UTC)

It’s obviously crap and unfit for purpose, but to say so is politically unacceptable here in the best of all possible worlds. Eric Corbett 01:18, 27 July 2013 (UTC)

I couldn’t agree more. Its too bad the WMF refuses to admit that VE is garbage in its current condition and they need to quit[e] forcing broken garbage down people throats until its fixed.Kumioko (talk) 01:22, 27 July 2013 (UTC)

I have warned Jimbo of potential VE hostilities to rise at Wikimania. I think WMF managers had imagined some grandstanding or showboating to have VE widely deployed before Wikimania, but even a prima donna knows to sing in tune and get *all* the words right in the song, before prancing to center stage. Beware, “Pride goeth before a fall” (<KJV Proverbs16:18). I think WMF needs to face the music…. –Wikid77 (talk) 04:20, 27 July 2013 (UTC)
See bottom of Special:Preferences#mw-prefsection-editing. There is now an option to “Temporarily disable VisualEditor while it is in beta”. —Timeshifter (talk) 01:47, 27 July 2013 (UTC)

For a comprehensive list of options, see WP:VisualEditor/Opt-out. — John Broughton (♫♫) 04:28, 27 July 2013 (UTC)

We need a petition to request shutdown of VE until fixed for basic functionality. –Wikid77 (talk) 08:12, 28 July 2013 (UTC)

Personally I would be happy to sign such a petition if I thought it would mean anything but the WMF doesn’t care what we editors think. No matter how much and how many people complain or how obvious it is that it needs to be disabled, they have their minds made up. The only way they are going to listen is if we stop editing until its fixed. If enough editors stop editing for a while, they’ll get the hint. Kumioko (talk) 14:22, 28 July 2013 (UTC)

What future does a website have if it doesn’t listen to the people who use that website? The answer is it doesn’t have one. If changes are repeatedly pushed through that wikipedia users don’t like, they’re not going to use the site anymore. My edit count is seriously down and I have to admit VE is just so un-user-friendly I just can’t be bothered to edit. Plus the sites constantly glitching, the sites taking longer to load so I’m going to other sites when I’m searching for information, and avoiding wikipedia all together. And it seems I’m not alone; talking to friends who include from registered users, anon-editors and casual browsers, the reply is a unanimous “WFT is wrong with wikipedia?”. Its sad to see something I have enjoyed and valued falling apart before my eyes whilst whoever’s running the shop seems blind to criticisms saying that they know best. Every time I’ve made a suggestion about improving this shambles its been put down in the rudest manner; and reading though these pages, I’m obviously not alone. When will this shambles end? When wikipedia has no visitors anymore? —Rushton2010 (talk) 18:26, 28 July 2013 (UTC)”
Leave a Reply

