“THE HEAD OF THE SCIENCE DEPARTMENT’S EXCITEMENT ABOUT MY COLLECTION !!!” by kerasotes

“THE HEAD OF THE SCIENCE DEPARTMENT’S EXCITEMENT ABOUT MY COLLECTION !!!”

I donated rocks to my high school in February this year and they are so excited about it I got a fabulous email regarding it.  It hasn’t been so much fun lately as it was when I donated EVERYTHING Rudyard Kipling Ever Wrote in 1st EDITIONS that had the school a buzz, but this is almost like that.  It was going to take them months to display all my rocks and plants and crystals and every kind of precious and semi- precious gem stones from around the world and even volcanoes and white starfish from Tahiti to rare crystals of citrine and quartz and resins and a million million million year old sea creature a trilobite among other things and say three months and they’d be done.

 

Well evidently, they are concerned that people – not the students – will steal them that they are ‘i guess – putting them behind 3 foot glass like my friend Harry Winston did in New York at His Fabulous Store!  So that’s for now..

 

I’m kinda done in!

===========================

===========================

And Here Is That Email:

=================================

On Apr 12, 2016 1:29 PM, Thomas Mayo <Thomas.Mayo@culver.org> wrote:

Mike,

 

Thanks a lot!

 

I hope you’re doing ok. 

 

When I talked to the head of our science department, he was incredibly excited about the collection you sent us.  He is trying to figure out how to display it safely and keep it secure.  It’s not so much the students we are concerned about as outsiders.  I told you that it was going to take a long time to get this display done and I stand by that promise.  However, I want you to get the message that we are excited about having your collection.

 

Take care.

 Thomas Mayo III

Director of The Culver Fund

=========================================green and purple amethyst

This is my precious green and purple amethyst crystal from Mount Pilchuck that I got the other day from Chad’s Private Collection because I wanted a cool crystal to give to my school and he let me have it!  Isn’t it Cool!  Isn’t it Nice!  It is very rare he said.  AND, Amethysts come in all the rainbow colors like sapphires and diamonds and quartz’s and I said I guess then even emeralds and rubies come in rainbows too and we laughed and he agreed.  So there.  I guess I am parting with my new Precious Hobbit, I guess I am.  

===================

So here is that email saying that if I cared to donate it, they would accept my gift! — 

===================

RE: Raw platinum gold and silver from mines
 
 Thomas Mayo
 
To:

Mike Kerasotes <kerasotes@outlook.com>;
Wed 12:17 PM
 
 
 

Mike,

 

Of course, I hope the news you will get on your health will be good!

 

The amethyst stone is beautiful.  You have already been incredibly generous, but if you choose to add it to the collection, the Science Department will accept it with appreciation.

 

Have a good one.

Thomas Mayo
Director of Culver Fund, Development | CMA Class of 1975
Culver Academies 1300 Academy Road | Culver, Indiana 46511 |  http://www.culver.org
E: Thomas.Mayo@culver.org | P: 574-842-8072 | C: 574-249-1908  

====================================

April 13, 2016 Wednesday Evening after five o’clock p.m. and posted, blogged, and written by me, kerasotes [PS:  I added the rock and the emails regarding this post]”

One thought on ““THE HEAD OF THE SCIENCE DEPARTMENT’S EXCITEMENT ABOUT MY COLLECTION !!!” by kerasotes

Leave a Reply

